Skip to content

Alice in Wonderland: Release the Child Within

October 28, 2009

I have been waiting for this film for a very long time and I am very excited to say that it is almost here. Tim Burton’s
Alice in Wonderland (2010) is due to hit the Australian screen on March the 4th 2010. I know, I know, its still 5 months away, but seeing as I have been waiting for 3 years, 5 months is NOTHING.

Like Tim Burton’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005), Alice in Wonderland (2010) is a remake of a classic yet frightening tale. I like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005) because Tim Burton followed the narrative of the book, rather than the numerous cinematic remakes, produced over the years.
He didn’t take into consideration that children might be scared of squirrels and their ability to pick up girls and throw them into the rubbish- he just went by the book, because that was the true story.
I can only assume that Alice in Wonderland (2010) is adapted from the book.

This is another Disney/Tim Burton production. Few would know that Tim Burton studied animation at the Walt Disney academy and was one of the artists for The Fox and the Hound (1981). Let face it, if he continued to work for the cute and fluffy Disney, he probably would have snapped and killed everyone. Thankfully, he left. He has, however, worked in conjunction with Disney, in films such as Vincent (1982 – very cute short film) and The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993 – one of my favourites). A full length remake of Tim Burton’s Frankenweenie (1984) will also be produced by Disney and Burton. Although the original was not animated, my guess is that it will be made in stop-motion.

I have seen almost all of Tim Burton’s films and there are two film that I have disliked with passion:
Firstly, Mars Attacks! (1996). Just associating this film with Burton makes me pull a face: the face of pain and disappointment. It was so bad. Why? There are too many reasons, but I will name two: there were many famous actors and not enough darkness. Tim Burton films have this dark deep tone, which was truly missed in Mars Attack (1996). The second: Planet of the Apes (2001). This wasn’t so bad, but again, I didn’t feel Burton in this film. It wasn’t unique. It felt like every other Twentieth Century-Fox blockbuster: entertaining but nothing special.

Back to the point, when Alice in Wonderland (2010) does appear on Australian screens, see it. If not for the story or Tim Burton, for the fabulous costumes and mise-en-scene!

Till next time,

S

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen Smith permalink
    November 9, 2009 9:22 AM

    The trailer for this looks stunning, and I’d go see it for either Tim Burton or Johnny Depp – such a fantastic combo. Edward Scissorhands is one of my all time favorites.

    Have to disagree with you about Mars Attacks! A trully silly, film but hilarious.

    • Shmaccar permalink*
      November 9, 2009 9:44 AM

      I’m definitely seeing it for Tim Burton, and Johnny Depp is just a plus!
      I almost have every Tim Burton DVD, and I would have to say the short film called Vincent and nightmare before christmas are both my favourite. But i do enjoy watching Edward Scissorhands 🙂

      I never said Mars Attack wasn’t funny! I might have been biased, as i expected something different from Tim Burton. Film is very objective! there is no right or wrong!

      • Jen Smith permalink
        November 9, 2009 9:51 AM

        I thought Vincent was fantastic too!

      • Shmaccar permalink*
        November 9, 2009 9:59 AM

        I thought it was adorable!
        I saw it ages ago, but it also came with my edition of nightmare before christmas.
        Disney chose to air the short film before one of their major features. I’m not sure how well it would have gone if the audience were there to watch Snow White or something just as pretty and colourful.

  2. Laura Crawford permalink
    November 11, 2009 9:26 AM

    I can’t wait to see this film! I’ve ben watching it closely too and, while I’m not a rabid Tim Burton fan, I really dig my fantasy and loved this story.

  3. Laura Crawford permalink
    November 11, 2009 9:27 AM

    P.S: I’m very much looking forward to ‘Avatar’ too. Go James Cameron and the CGI!

Leave a Reply

