Skip to content

Hong Kong Produce

October 12, 2009

If you are looking for a film that’s out of the ordinary check out a Hong Kong film called Dumplings (2004). This film will make you question dumplings for the rest of your life. This film has different dimensions. We see a woman, once a young actress, loose her confidence and slowly loosing her youthful beauty. We then see a woman who makes her living from dumplings that make people younger and back door abortions. We then see how these two people effect other lives, or should I say, potential lives. I have a huge issue with predictable films. Its nice on occasion, but I prefer new and odd narratives that linger with me for days and sometimes weeks. This film is not predictable. Its fresh and new and if you don’t mind subtitles, then definitely check this one out.

Also, another Hong Kong film that has just come out is called Accident (2009), where professional hitmen kill people by choreographing accidents. It looks amazing. I hope to check it out soon!

Till next time

S

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen Smith permalink
    October 15, 2009 12:04 PM

    I remember seeing ‘Dumplings’ at MIFF. Totally gross but a fantastic film. Immediately after the film a friend and I tried to have dumplings for dinner. We couldn’t stomach it and ended up having noodles instead.

    • Shmaccar permalink*
      October 15, 2009 8:48 PM

      Thats hilarious! Noodles aren’t a bad substitute!
      Fortunately for me, when it comes to food, I’m not affected. Like the film Super Size Me, I could have easily had McDonald’s afterwards.
      I didnt know it was showing at MIFF! I, by extreme accident, found it in the tv guide- SBS was showing Dumplings one late evening. I was very lucky.

      Thanks for the comment!!

      S

Leave a Reply

