Skip to content

Taxi Driver: 113 minutes I could have spent on something good

October 3, 2009

Over the weekend I saw Taxi Driver (1967), supposedly one of those movies you should see before you die. Honestly, I don’t see why this film has such a grand reputation.
If you haven’t seen Taxi Driver (1967), the film is about a loner called Travis Bickle who works as a taxi driver. Driving through the city of New York, we see what he sees; the dirt, the scum and of course, prostitutes. Throughout this entire film we are made aware of his odd nature. It’s obvious that he hates the scum of New York and deep within him is an urge, an urge to act on his hate. We watch as he buys guns, makes gun devices and cuts his hair. After seeing his obsession develop, we expect fireworks! Constant death! Crazy rampages! Instead Bickle kills a shoplifter by mere coincidence and kills two pimps. Whao0o0o. Sorry if I spoiled it for you, but if anything, I have just you from wasting 113 minutes.

I’m no violent-hungry movie lover, if anything I’m not attracted to this genre at all. But I feel that I made an effort for this film, due to its reputation, and its famous quotes and of course Robert De Niro, Jodie Foster and Harvey Keitel. The actors were great, but the narrative needed more.

I honestly believe that if this film were made in the last decade, it would be brilliant. It would be the love child of Taken (2008) and Falling Down (1993). The scum of New York remains to exist, the life of a taxi driver would be almost identical to one from the 70s. The difference? BETTER. More explosions, an engaging narrative and 113 minutes that I don’t want back.

Till next time

S

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

